DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and Tips!

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and Tips!

Hey everyone! 

I know I’m back after a long time. So, I used all the extra time I had during summer vacations to change things around the house. Since we don’t have any extra money to spend on shelves or cupboards, I thought it was better to make these yourself at home. Keep reading to know how you can make one for yourself!

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and Tips!

We got a wooden shelf made from our old bed (YES, seriously!) from a professional carpenter and used the leftover wood to make the dividers of the shelf. The next step painting the shelf but hiring a professional would mean chipping out extra money for the furnishing, polishing and all. So after leaving the wooden shelf on its own (unpainted) for months and months, I decided to take matters in my own hands and paint it myself. 
MATERIALS USED:
The paint I used was “Base 92” paint by Duluxe which I mixed with a Aus FastBlue Stainer by Asian Paints. 

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!
DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

I had these Paints lying around but if you don’t, you can simply get a smaller pack or even get wood enamel Paints. 

This is what the shelf looked like before I painted it completely:  

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

PRO TIP: It’s always better to paint a coat and then, WAIT FOR IT TO DRY completely before painting the second coat. 

The best part is that you can add the Stainer according to how dark or how light you want the color to be. 

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!
DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

And a picture of me, painting: 

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

I wasn’t happy with this version so I decided to mix a little more stainer to have a pale blue color. 

A FEW FINISHING TOUCHES: 

To finish it off, I ordered wall decals for 99Rs (less than 2 dollars). Trust me, it was a great deal. I mean, look at it! I got four cat stickers and the “Be Meow” sticker all at 99 bucks. Sticking these was super easy: Simply Peel off, Stick and Poke the bubbles, if any. 

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

And here’s the final outcome: 

DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!
DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!
DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!
DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and more!

Everything you see on this shelf is a DIY project, from the bamboo mat to the organizer to the tiny cactus to the owl pen stand. If you wanna know how you can many any of these, drop a comment below and I’ll definitely upload a post for you! 

Well, that’s it. I hope you liked reading my experience and I hope that it inspires you to work on DIY projects like this one! 

Until next time! 

Much Love, 

2 thoughts on “DIY Wooden Shelf: Cheap Room Décor and Tips!

Leave a Reply

