Which Indian authors are overrated?

Which Indian authors are overrated?

This answer is going to be quite shocking for some of you, and before I go ahead I’ll put in a quick intro about me and my love for English.

I’m Samia, otherwise known as Sammy. I love writing and I have a flair for it. I’ve been reading books that since I was about 10 years old, which gives me enough experience to distinguish between what’s good and what’s not. I usually like pieces that have a great story line, an unexpected climax/ending etc. And of course, proper use of grammar.
I enjoy reading books by Ruskin Bond, Nicholas Sparks, Sylvia Plath, Saki, Stephen King, William Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Vikram Seth and the list could go on forever. (Just in case you’re looking)

I’m not fond of Nikita Singh and I think she’s completely overrated. Her book “Accidentally in love” was a very badly written one. I’m not saying it’s the worst, but trust me, it could have been better. It poorly revolves around a weak story line and ends with the usual ending; the guy gets the girl. It DOES, however, mention the tough life of a model in detail so, that makes up for it.

Then there’s Chetan Bhagat, I can’t decide if I love his books or not. On one hand, I’m absolutely in love with 2 States, 5 point someone, 3 Mistakes of my life, One night at the call centre etc. But some of his books just do not deliver the stuff I hoped they would. Well, Let’s just end by saying he’s a decent author.

And FINALLY, the author who enters the list is DURJOY DUTTA. I’m sorry to put him here but his books really need an edge. Saying that he’s overrated is an understatement, seriously. I can still find a dozen pictures of him with some of my juniors in school with the caption “Best Author” or whatever, but trust me when I say this, after you read the stuff I mentioned, you’ll eventually think he’s overrated as well. I have read “Take my Hand” by him and “Someone like you” which is written by him and Nikita Singh, both of which are complete disasters.

Well, this was my list, let me know in the comments section if you agree/disagree!

Leave a Reply

